Rural Heritage Days 2016!

Another successful Rural Heritage Days. A great two days, weather was iffy on Saturday but our die hard supporters still came out and made a day of the events. We even had some novice plowers competing. There was plenty of food provided by the United Commercial Traveller’s Group, Superior Smoke, and for that sweet tooth we had Pop’s Kettlecorn. Our OPA judge from Southern Ontario was Wayne Downie who spent endless time with our plowers, experienced and new. Our pavilion provided shade and a place to sit and listen to the George Davis and Rob Donaldson as well as Radar and the Rockets.

We had forty+ antique tractors in our display and parade. The Blekkenhorsts had their threshing, stooking and binding demonstrations on Friday afternoon and during the day on Saturday. The people movers did just that, all day and at most of the time, all three were full of spectators. Thanks to the drivers of the people movers.

This year we had a very successful Tractor Rodeo- very well organized and great fun for both the participants and the spectators. Great work from the committee.

Our raffle this year had three prizes, the first were a set of two red cedar, gliding chairs, made locally by Gord Tomlin. Scott Miller was that winner. Second prize was a cash prize of $300 won by Bernadette Carroll from Kakabeka. Third prize was cash of $150 won by Barb Haines from Thunder Bay. Congratulations to the winners and thank you to all of you who bought tickets. The proceeds are helpful with our insurance costs as well as improvements to the site.

And of course the match isn’t complete without the opening bagpiper Carolyn Carlson. Thanks again Carolyn!!!!

We had six celebrity plowers this year that compete with a hand plow behind a tractor and judged by our OPA judge, this year’s champion was Bill Mauro, other participants were Jocelyn Smith, Mayor Lucy Kloosterhuis, Gary Cooper, Bishop Racicot and Shirlee Bayda Clace.

Again this year we have a representative from Slate River winning one of the Top Ten Family Awards of Ontario presented by the OPA and the BMO. The Belluz Farm family won this year and were given a crystal plaque from the BMO and can go to the International Plowing match where they will receive a brass gate sign to display at their farm. Congratulations to the Belluz family- Claire, Don, Kevin and Jodie.

The following are the Plowing Results for 2016:
Grand Champion: Fred Boulter
2 Furrow Drag: John Hanna
2 Furrow Match: Henry Kloosterhuis
Two Furrow-mounted: Fred Boulter
Highest Female: Amanda Keller
3 Furrow: Candace Ridler
4 or more Furrow: Alan Ridler
Antique Tractor: Murray Hanna
Novice: Jason Blekkenhorst
Garden Tractor: Rob Roy
Junior: Alex Blekkenhorst
Celebrity: Bill Mauro

The Antique Tractor Results 2016:
Class 10-Best Original:  Leo Blekkenhorst (1948 Cockshutt 30)
Class 11-Best restored:  Berend Blekkenhorst (1954 Massey Harris Pacer)
Class 12-Oldest Running:  Art Blekkenhorst (1921 Fordson F)
Class 13-Best Modified:  Leo Blekkenhorst (1951 Massey Harris 2222)

There are so many people to thank individually- so a BIG THANK YOU to all who participated, volunteered , had exhibits and to the spectators. Great job and a great match!! To Diana and Monique- great job with the tedious job of parking but thank you!!!! Of course we are still looking for more volunteers to help out during the year planning the match as well as running it on the two day event.

Our banquet is being held November 5, 2016 at the Kakabeka Legion-tickets are available to the public-so come out and enjoy the festivities. Contact Martin Kloosterhuis at 707-0975 for more information and tickets

On another note- the Plowman’s Association is holding a Two-Bit Auction on Wednesday, November 9, 2016 at the Murillo Hall in Murillo. Proceeds will be going towards getting our sawmill up and running for 2017, possible new web page, maintaining and improving the site, hydro costs (no more noisy generators!!) and insurance. Tickets are $5 and are limited- if you are interested, contact Susan McRury at 476-0901.

Hope to see everyone again next year. Watch for our dates in 2017!!!!

About the Author

Related Posts